Cost Per Mille (Thousand). Though impressions are bid on individually, they are generally paid for in groups of a thousand. The CPM measures how much every one thousand impressions won in an ad campaign cost
Cost per Acquisition. Measures the cost of a user signing up for a website, service or online transaction (eg. Signing up for a newsletter, becoming a member of a website or purchasing goods online)
Behavioral targeting uses information collected on an individual‘s web browsing behavior such as the pages they have visited or the searches they have made to select which advertisements to be displayed to that individual. (e.g. NYC Airfare Ads shown to a user recently searching for Hotels in New York)
Cost Per Click. This is a measure of how much each click made by a user costed the advertiser. It is calculated by dividing the total number of clicks by the total amount of money spent.
So for example if an ad campaign cost $500.00 and achieved 250 clicks. The CPC would be $500 ÷ 250, which works out to be $2.00.
This refers to video ads that are shown before the content a user wishes to see is played. Often has a countdown timer, after which the user can choose to skip the ad.
This refers to video ads that are shown in the middle of a video.
An impression is counted each time an ad is viewed once by a user, or displayed once on a webpage. Also called a view or an ad view.
Cost per Lead. Measure of the cost of acquiring a unique lead, where a user usually fills out a contact form so that they can be contacted by a salesperson at a later time.
A form of targeted advertising that scans media for context and automatically serves ads based on the content displayed to the user. (eg. Car Ads shown on a blog post about cars)
This is where the images, videos and rich media banners (HTML5 animation) are stored and managed for them to be served to the website where the ad is being displayed.
THIRD PARTY DATA
User data provided by an external company that specializes in collecting and categorizing internet users which we use to target specific groups of people who share a specific trait (e.g. Music lovers who like Taylor Swift or 2008 Toyota Corolla owners)
RICH MEDIA BANNERS
These are ad units that make use of HTML5 coding to display “rich” content. For example videos, animated ads or an interactive banners.
A pixel is a few lines of software code that is added to a website in order to aid programmatic campaigns, by performing tasks such as counting the number of users who visit the site after viewing or clicking an ad, or placing a cookie in the user’s browser so they can be re-targeted.
When a user clicks on (or touches in the case of mobile, tablet and other touchscreen devices) an ad and is redirected to the ad’s landing page in their browser.
Cost per Download. Used in campaigns for apps and other software that is downloaded by the user. Measures how much each individual download cost the advertiser.
Choosing which type of device to display ads on (Desktop, Mobile, Tablet, Smart TV)
FIRST PARTY DATA
User data collected from ad campaigns, CRM software and other sources that allow us to target (or re-target) specific users.
Data Management Platform – Software that allows us to target specific audiences with your message.
Adjusting certain aspects of the campaign based on its performance in order to maximize ROI.
The metric used to measure the effectiveness of the engagement actions
Supply Side Platform – Software with which companies wishing to sell advertising space on their website can put their ad spaces for sale on the online marketplace.
Click through rate. A percentage that measures how often users clicked on an ad. It is calculated by dividing the total number of clicks by the total number of impressions served.
So for example, if an ad campaign achieved 1,000 clicks and served 250,000 impressions, the CTR would be 1,000 ÷ 250,000 which works out to 0.40%
A cookie is a basic PC record of a user’s browsing activity that is stored in the user’s web browser. The data stored in a cookie can be used to customize the user’s experience when browsing a website. For example if a user has been to a website before, a cookie can automatically log them back in. Cookies can also remember which ads have been shown to the user before, or show a them customized ad based on an item they were looking at previously.
Choosing a group of users to show an ad to based on a list of certain traits. For example for an ad for baby formula, our targeting would include users who are females 18+, expectant mothers, recent mothers or parents of newborn children.
Individual visitor to a website who is counted as a single visitor irrespective of the number of times he or she revisits the site
How often an ad is shown to one specific user. We can set a “Frequency Cap” so that an ad is only shown a set number of times within a time period (eg. 3 times every 24 hours, or 10 times in total for the entire flight of the campaign)
Demand Side Platform – Software with which companies wishing to advertise can access online marketplaces where users can purchase ad impressions.